Thanksgiving 2004

Thanksgiving Day is the best holiday of all the yearly celebrations. All the fun of family and football with none of the Christmas stress. The WHOLE Wood side of my family gets together. I really get that Hallmark inspired warm fuzzy feeling when everyone is together. I sit in the corner, zoom lense in hand, and smile at the blessing of my family.

However, the scene is proceeded by hours of preparation and planning. How many seats can we fit around the seemingly shrinking table? What can we use to cover the stain on the carpet? Which cousin will bring a new significant other-that incidentally, we will spend the day snickering behind his/her back at any flaw we find, regardless of how insignificant. It’s a family tradition. And with the repeated trips to the Publix to pick up “just one more thing” I forgot (forgot meaning that I decided to add something else at the last minute). In the midst of the hurried preparations, I am left with two questions.
1. How did my dad get so patient?
2. How did the pilgrims do this without cell phones?

I am not sure the answers to those pressing questions, so I will leave them to finish my version of green bean casserole-a family dinner staple. I will anticipate the arrival of my entire family, the kick-off of the Colts/Lions game, and the yearly, harmonic singing of the Doxology.

“Priase God from whom all bles (harmony splits) sings flow. Praise Him, all creatures here below. Praise Him above the heav’nly host. Praise Father, Son and Holy Ghost. Amen.”

Leave a Reply

