Oh, where did I put that exchange rate table…

I know I am not the only one watching the “budget.” *side note-I think that is my least favorite word…EVER* But seeing as how I work for a non-profit agency, it’s the holidays, and I recently moved, to say money is “tight” is only to avoid the truth of using the word “non-existent.” There is a distinct feeling that churns in the pit of my stomach at the thought of “10 days til the next payday and already in the red.”

The Good Book says “you have not because you ask not.” So I thought I would ask Grandma for some help since she has money just sitting around. She was so sweet though, and she offered to let me have all the change she has been collecting for…Who knows how long. In my mind, I saw her cute eccentricities as a possible gold mine. I knew she would have mountains of quarters to pile up into neat stacks of four. And of course, I would stumble across a few civil war coins that she failed to mention she had. They would be worth thousands. (too much Antique Road Show, I know) And the best part was that I knew it wouldn’t cut into her bank account, therefore rendering me guilt-free.

Reality is not nearly as fortunate. I will spare the sorting details. But at the end of the audit, the whole experience afforded me $12.44 US and 199.5 Francs. Imagine having to explain to an 86 year old woman with a heart of gold that the French money is good, just not here.

I don’t mean to sound ungrateful. $12.44 is better than $-23.67. I can TOTALLY get back to Charleston on a half of a tank of gas. And Sara almost has me convinced to join her in Paris in the spring. Does anyone know what 199.5 Francs will buy you in Paris? No, really. I’m asking. Does anyone know?

4 Responses to Oh, where did I put that exchange rate table…

  1. Jared says:

    jack diddly considering that they use the euro in france now. but it’d be funny if you tried to pay for gas with them. just go to some hick town and pretend to be a french tourist!

  2. Cheryl says:

    i would rather pose as a yankee than a frenchie.

  3. Jared says:

    yall hate the french more than us?!!!!!!!!
    wow. now that is deep and malicious hatred.

  4. Cheryl says:

    malicious…sounds like delicious…yeah, i don’t know…

Leave a Reply

