Saturday Night Answer

“How are you?”
“Great! And You?”

Oh, the dance we dance. You’re not fine, but then again, not everyone is entitled to the real answer. I don’t know about boys, but I know girls don’t offer too much in response to this unless they know the person really wants to know the answer. That, men, is why we always say “fine” the first time you ask. If you really want to know, ask again. If you don’t really want to know, accept “fine” and be on your way.

People have been asking me that questions a lot lately. I didn’t really know how to answer it. “Fine” was a lie. The truth is muddled and wordy. And these days, I’m not REALLY sure who REALLY wants to know.

But for those of you who actually want to know more than the Sunday morning answer to that question, I found it worded well. Don’t get ahead of me. I don’t really know who reads this (besides mom) and I’m not that easy. But if you want to know the true answer to how I am doing, you can find it well explained in the book Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller. In chapter 9, he penned my heart.

No, I’m not going to write out what he wrote. What can I say? I’m a girl. You still gotta put in a little work if you REALLY want to know. Think of it this way. Taking the effort to look up the book at a Barnes & Noble is easier than getting some girls to actually open up, eh? I mean, am I right or what.

And how are you?

5 Responses to Saturday Night Answer

  1. Amy says:

    Cheryl- Nice site! and great writing! I had no idea you had a site, but Sara Koenig is marketing you! I’m glad she told me about it.

  2. Cheryl says:

    welcome. sit a spell. kick your shoes off. leave gifts.

  3. Amy says:

    This post has been removed by the author.

  4. Amy says:

    Thanks for the invite to stay! I think I will!

Leave a Reply

