In his defense

I have a good friend who recently voiced his frustration with his friends because they felt that they needed to hassle him for being somewhat of a know-it-all. My friend is very smart. He is very well-read. Combine this with the fact that he is opinionated, and he found himself in a place were his intentions were being misundersood. The people who know him love him. They don’t mean to be harsh, I’m sure. But the whole thing got me thinking.

Why do people always feel like they should indulge the need to voice EVER SINGLE THING THAT IRRITATES THEM!?!?!?!

Sometimes I just want to tell them “Get your head out of your butt. It’s not about you. Do you really think everyone is sitting around waiting for your opinion?”

I’m not referring to my friends propensity for minutiae. I am talking about his friends that feel the need to hassle him. That’s just who he is. He is also thoughtful, patient, a gentleman (especially for a yankee) and fiercely loyal.

Rhetorical Question: Should we really insist on bitching about the little things that people do that we don’t understand and risk hurting them with our words?

5 Responses to In his defense

  1. Amy says:

    You go girl! It is amazing that despite all the rules and regs that only a few at BJ are the kids that are just made to go there, but most have *chosen* to go there to get that very same atmosphere you spoke of. Considering that two of my bridesmaids_to_be are BJ grads and especially awesome and fun christian girls…. thanks for the post. It’s time people quit “bitchin” about a lot of things.

  2. Jared says:

    the thing is, only those who are close to us can irritate us.
    i mean really get under your skin. at least for me.
    that driver that cut me off might make swear but i’ll forget it in five minutes.
    but if a close friend teases me about something i’m sensitive about then it just bugs me. it is usually such a small thing that i am embarrassed that it bothers me at all. and i feel guilty b/c i can’t just let it go. caught between the two is no fun!
    the answer?
    don’t have any friends.

  3. Amy says:

    lol. That is one solution.

  4. Amy says:

    Now that I think about it, maybe it’s not so bad of an idea.

  5. Cheryl says:

    yes, but that would be selfish to rob us…me…if the joy that is jared. stop thinking about yourself. start thinking more about me.
    Gosh (to be read ala nepolean dynamite)

Leave a Reply

