Say my name, say my name.

Do you ever think about the fact that in 40 years, we will have grandmothers named Brittany and Tiffany? Not that there’s anything wrong with those names, but they just don’t sound very…matronly. I was talking with my friend the other day about how people have forsaken the importance of names when bestowing one upon their child. In the Bible, names did two things. They declared ownership/lordship over something, and they denoted character. The friend I was with told me a story about a kid in his class that was a terror. The kid’s name was Elijah. So my friend asked the kid if he knew what his name meant. And as expected, he had no idea. So my friend told him to go home and find out what Elijah means. Sent By God. The next day, the the student came in and his whole demeanor was different. He had a glimpse of that he was meant to be because of the name given to him. Suddenly, he knew a little about who he was.

Peter, the one in the Bible, cracks me up. I don’t know how he and I could have been friends. He was so intense! His old name, Simon, meant “unstable.” And since this was the cat who cut off a soldier’s ear, I think it’s safe to say that he was living up to his name. But when Jesus met him, He gave him the name Peter – Rock. And a Rock is what he turned out to be. But Jesus gave Peter this name while he was still impulsive and a bit reckless with his actions and his tongue. Jesus saw who he would become once his life was changed. He saw that character that would change the history of the world. And so He named him. Jesus declared His life-changing Lordship over Peter’s life and He gave him new character.

What does your name mean?

11 Responses to Say my name, say my name.

  1. Tammy says:

    “Tammy” means “Perfection”…and I live up to it every day 🙂

    seriously, I know you don’t believe me, but you can look it up…

  2. Smith says:

    Smith = to smite or strike
    Alyson = truth, noble

  3. cheryl says:

    cheryl = epitome of femininity
    ruth = compassionate friend
    wood = wood

  4. My name means “God is Gracious”, but I think it was meant more to reflect upon my two namesakes, John the baptizer and King David . It’s something to live up to.

  5. Shawn says:

    Shawn is phonetic from of the Irish form of John:
    Sean (Irish), Jean (French), John (English),

    Ioannes (Greek) = “Jehovah is a gracious giver”
    Yowchanan/Y’howchanan or Johanan/Jehohanan (Hebrew) = “Jehovah has graced”

    GRACE, I just need to be reminded of grace and the hand it comes from.

  6. Mom says:

    Rebecca=a noose, cow, alluring
    Anne=Grace
    Wood=wood

    My sorta free Interp=a noose around the neck of the cow, alluring it to….luring others to Jesus…into His Grace

  7. Jared says:

    Jared- “He who was born to rule”
    Nuff said.

  8. katie says:

    kathryn = pure
    elizabeth = consecrated to God

  9. Papa Robbie says:

    Robert = Fame, bright, brilliance
    LaMont = The mountain
    Ellington= Some British slaveowner that owned a whole bunch of Africans.

  10. cheryl says:

    I thought your middle name was ligure….crud. i can never keep the story straight…

  11. Re says:

    Nice blog.

    Nerita – Just looked mine up and it means sea snail (what luck)

    Re

Leave a Reply

