21 – 6

It’s half time of the Colts – Patriots game. We are Colts fans because they use to be in Baltimore. Right now, they are having their butts handed to them by the Pats. Poor Peyton. Oh, well. I told dad to pray for the Colts as he blessed our tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwiches. On a side note, tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwiches are the BEST cold/rainy/snowy weather food. But I (like the Colts, apparently) digress.

I consider myself a cool chick when it comes to sports. I know more about sports than a lot of girls, much less than most guys. I pride myself on maintaining an appropriate level of knowledge without being a tom-boy. But I think I revealed my complete lack of competitive nature tonight. The following comments garnished little more than annoyed blank stares from the Colts cap clad men of the house.

“Is the Patriot’s coach wearing a hoodie? Why is he wearing that colour? It does nothing for him.”

“Think of it this way. Every time the Patriots make a touchdown, we get the ball back and another chance to score!”

“I just love the blockers! They take the tough hits so that their friends can do the fancy stuff. It’s so sweet!”

Looks like I may be pulling for Da Bears in Super Bowl XZninerXLLD. Whatever.

11 Responses to 21 – 6

  1. Sam says:

    i’m glad to know that soon you’ll update your blog with info on the colts AMAZING comeback victory. and why am i excited??? because this indiana girl has seen the holy grail of football games occur- the indianapolis colts and the chicago bears are in the superbowl!!! having grown up 1 hour from chi-town, with my first sports rmemory being wearing a ‘fridge’ shirt for the bears last superbowl victory (when i was knee-high to a grasshopper), and only 3 hours from indianapolis, i’m busting with sudden nfl passion. on the day, i’ll be a bears fan hand down (wearing a hula skirt ala chris farley’s da bears rendition on snl), but will still fill a twinge of pride if the colts win.

    ah, the Lord is good.
    your absolutely girly, non tom-boyish friend Sam

  2. katie says:

    That was an incredible game. believe it or not i was more into it than bigbie! so now that the colts came from behind, who ya gonna pull for? This year will be the most interesting superbowl in history for me. I usually don’t care, but now I’m into it.

  3. cheryl says:

    I told my dad at the end of the game that I prayed for the Colts while he was blessing the meal, and that he shouldn’t laugh when I suggest praying for them. GO COLTS!!!

  4. Jared says:

    You are His favorite…

  5. cheryl says:

    you make a keen observation, doctor.

  6. Sam says:

    loolaoohlahooo- da bears are in the superbowl!

    sorry, that was 21 years in the waiting, had to sing it aloud.

  7. Steven says:

    I’m obviously a good luck charm to the Colts since they have not been in a Super Bowl since moving to Indy from B-more. Now that I live in Indy, Booyahh! Hopefully that will hold true for the game in a couple weeks.
    Also, Sam where are you from in IN? If you say Valpo I’m going to mock you for ever.

  8. cheryl says:

    YOU CAN’T PULL FOR THE BEARS, CHERYL! What ARE you talking about!?!? WE’re Colts fans, period!

  9. katie says:

    i appreciate how sam refuses to claim indiana until something cool happens, now she’s all “i’m from indiana, and we’re great ’cause we’ve got great football today, and I live close to chicago so that counts too.” fair weather citizen.

  10. Sam says:

    okay, i am from valpo (formal: valparaiso), and how the heck did you guess that? or did i tell you once?? either way, mock away- i know how horrible indiana is, thus the reason i ran away, and dear Lord, will never be coming back!
    but, uhm…good luck with living in indianapolis and all that for you…i mean, indiana’s not all that bad (don’t like the lightning strike me now!)

  11. Sam says:

    excuse me, but y’all know i have commitment issues….and am slightly insane…combine the 2, and i can do whatver the heck i want to without compunction. works for me.

Leave a Reply

