The Psychology of Motion

When I am engaged in heart to heart worship with Jesus, I bounce. It’s the same motion I get when standing in Camden Yards. I hope that doesn’t offend Jesus…

When I am in significant pain, emotional or physical, I rock. Maybe it harkens back to a comforting time of being rocked as a child. But orphans who never get touched will rock themselves. I wonder why that is.

One Response to The Psychology of Motion

  1. Smith says:

    I’ve heard before that babies like to be rocked because the baby used to be “rocked” in his/her mother’s womb during pregnancy: whenever she would walk, etc. People say this is why babies in utero tend to fall asleep when their moms are walking, and tend to wake up whenever mom tries to go to sleep 🙂 I wonder if this could have something to do with it. It’s an interesting thought. I bounce when I worship too. I wonder if it’s a subconscious desire to “lift off” to get to heaven 🙂

Leave a Reply

