Commando. I’m sorry. You’re going where? and other conversational high points from the weekend.

AR: Is Leeanne Here yet?
KA: No. Somebody call her.
CW: (after a glass of wine with dinner*) LEEANNE!!!!
KA: Not like that.

*three glasses. on an empty stomach

LJ: Cheryl, what was the best moment of this past year?
CW: (thinking. mouthing to herself) “I can’t say that.”
AR: Yeah. The best moment while you were awake.

Evan (my 19 yr old cousin): “It can be frustrating when you don’t understand how to interpret a guys actions – especially when his words and his actions don’t seem to make sense. But we women analyze too much. Guys aren’t that complicated. In that way, they are kind of like plants.”
CW: I should blog that. Write it down for me. Evan starts writing it on her hand. Yeah, I’m gonna need that on something that is coming with me.

Saturday with Dad.

Dad explaining “cat/dog theology.” A cat says, ‘you pet me, feed me and house me. I must be God. A dog says, ‘you pet me, feed me and house me. You must be God.

Lots of people want to see a miracle but they aren’t willing to go to the places that need one.

Quid pro quo. We think if we do this and that, and make certain choices then God will give us what we want. But we don’t want him to give us what we want. Our dreams are much too small.

Most people are suffocating under small ambitions. Our hearts and souls are made for more noble things.

Fear is Satan’s scarecrow in God’s corn field. It’s false. It’s a lie. And a smart crow knows that where there’s a scarecrow, there’s a harvest.

People think that problems are a detour in life. But they ARE life. God isn’t just interested in you being like Him when you come through the fire. He wants you to be like Him IN the fire.

*three glasses. on an empty stomach

3 Responses to Commando. I’m sorry. You’re going where? and other conversational high points from the weekend.

  1. Sam says:

    all great- but you’re missing 2 from our convo. 1 regarding me doesn’t need to be posted publicly. the other, regarding, well, the others, i’ll let you post at your discretion. but it would allow for interesting conversation.

  2. cheryl says:

    oh, this is my discretion. the one about you would only be appreciated by a few. and the other would open a can of worms that I am just not ready to fish with. i wonder if that analogy works….

  3. Sam says:

    i think, as an analogy, it semi-works. will attempt to use it in casual conversation and let you know what happens.

Leave a Reply

