Insightful, I think

In For Men Only, the author say that women’s brains are like a computer that is constantly running multiple applications. A woman can’t just close out an application because she wants to. She may be able to minimize it, but it is still running until it’s resolved. This is why women will be affected by emotions and events years after they have past. This is why women struggle with insecurity in relationships. If we are in conflict, even minor conflict, with someone, this “program” will be running until it’s resolved. And we have little triggers from old relationships that automatically show up in the present. We all have our own little “default programs” that we have to deal with. It isn’t enought to say “I’m a different person. This is a different relationship with a different man.” We always have those little pop-ups invading our day. When a woman asks a man, “What’s on your mind?” and he says, “nothing”, he may really have nothing in his head at the moment. Women ALWAYS have a program or 8 running. All the time. Continually.

This book really does give an insightful look into the female inner workings. I think it would be beneficial for any man to check it out. And ladies, they wrote For Women Only. It gives the same insight about men to us.

It’s good to increase understanding in the ways God made us.

9 Responses to Insightful, I think

  1. John David Henderson says:

    Oh NO! I may be a woman!

  2. katie says:

    Oooh, you just set yourself up…

  3. Shawn says:

    I have been working my way through this and Rachel read the For Women Only book a while back. The thing I appreciate about the men’s edition, is there is a quick reference guide in the inside cover. That is what I am talking about! What I really want to make is some parody spots based on the “Hello I’m a Mac….” Hello, I’m a Man, and I’m a Woman…. and let the comparisons begin.

    http://movies.apple.com/movies/us/apple/getamac/counselor_480x376.mov

  4. John the Henderson says:

    I actually thought the ladies version was better, I liked the concept so I read both of them. Speaking of computers, for a guy to have absolutely nothing in his head is unfathomable to me. It seems like a frozen computer, you would either want to smack it or unplug it. I would, however, love to narrow it down to just one thing “single minded, whole hearted” you could say……..the bright side to sex, rock & roll and sometimes drugs is that these alow you to narrow your focus to just one thing and be enthrawled, which is what we were made for and which God should bring about but that can be a harder place to get to, though its where we are really trying to get with everything else, whether we realize it or not.

    Shawn, your “hello, Im a man” comercial reminds me of the kid in the previously mentioned “all Mommy wanted was a backrub” t-shirt.

  5. Jared says:

    “…the bright side of sex, rock & roll and sometimes druges is these allow you to narrow your focus…”
    Be sure to let us know how addiction works out for you Mr. the Henderson. Oh, and which of the above you choose.

    And guys don’t ever have ‘nothing’ on our minds. It’s more like a screensaver. It’s either so stupid we’d be embarrassed to admit we were thinking about it or so boring we forget as soon as yall intrude with your question.
    Not that I can really speak for for ‘Men’. They have shown that the longer you are in formal education the more androgynous you become. So I’m only a half step up from Jacko at this point…

  6. cheryl says:

    i think john was trying to say that he wished we could have the same focus on the Lord as the consuming effects of drugs, sex and other addictions. and i would agree with him on that point. there are things that consume my thoughts so much and I wish it was more often my Lord.

    i am addicted to myself. seriously the most self-important person on the planet. it disgusts me.

  7. John David Henderson says:

    Most things, even wicked things, have some element of good. Satan was beautiful. Hitler was a great public speaker. One of the good things about the sex, drugs and rock is that once your with that girl, on that high or locked into that rhythm everything else in your mind, every one of the thousands of worries and distractions, they all go away. Same with say, rock climbing. They are addicting because at that moment you dont have a thousand other programs running in your mind, which can be exhausting.

    On a side, none of them have worked out for me and it doesn’t take very long to realize which still haunt me.

  8. Steven says:

    I’ll bet the book about women is longer than The Bible and the one about men is a two sided leaflet.

Leave a Reply

