Regardless of where you stand on the issue of the U.S. involvement in
Iraq, here’s a sobering statistic.

There has been a monthly average of 160,000 troops in the Iraq theatre
of operations during the last 22 months, and a total of 2,112 deaths.
That gives a firearm death rate of 60 per 100,000 soldiers.

The firearm death rate in Washington D.C. is 80.6 per 100,000 persons
for the same period. That means that you are about 25% more likely to
be shot and killed in the U.S. Capital than you are in Iraq.

Conclusion: The U.S. should pull out of Washington.

7 Responses to

  1. cheryl says:

    even though most of our troups haven’t been killed by firearms, but by road side bombs and IEDs. But I still think the US should pull out of DC. It’s a cluster. I shouldn’t say “cluster.”

  2. katie says:

    Now compare those numbers to N. Chas. I have a feeling our troops are safer in DC and Iraq.

  3. Papa Robbie says:

    Why should they pull out of D.C.? Because of all those chocolate people? Hmmmmm.

  4. Smith says:

    yeah, I thought it was interesting how many times my DC friends would say “You can’t live there. You’ll get shot” in response to me asking about a particular location for summer housing. I started to get suspicious when 99% of the city was deemed unsafe. And they weren’t kidding…should be an interesting summer šŸ™‚

    I’m going in.

  5. Sam says:

    i think that means i should get combat pay.

  6. cheryl says:

    Papa – holy filter, batman! it’s the rich whities up there that tick me off, but that’s another blog…

    smith – you’re in DC? aren’t you graduating soon?

  7. Smith says:

    I’ll be there this summer for 9 weeks. Holy fourth of july, batman!!

    Then I’ll be in Charleston for 4 šŸ™‚ I graduate May 9, 2008. Not that I’m counting.

Leave a Reply

