My list

Last night was country night on AI. Amy brought back an old friend when she mentioned Cowboy Take Me Away by the Dixie Chicks. I had forgotten how perfect and intensely soul stirring that song is. In fact, when people ask, “So, what are you looking for in a man?” I reveal my limited requirements by listing, “He has to love Jesus. He has to like me. And he has to have a deep understanding as to why Cowboy Take Me Away by the Dixie Chicks and The Dance by Garth Brooks are two of greatest songs ever.”

Because I am bored at work, I decided to make a list of my favorite country songs. I am in no way arguing that these are the “best all time” or “most influential.” They just take me back to a memory or make me feel something nice, or I am compelled to belt them out when I hear them on the radio. In addition to the two mentioned above:

Devil Went Down to Georgia by Charlie Daniels Band
Southern Comfort by Buddy Jewel
Where the Black Top Ends by Keith Urban
All My Exes Live in Texas by George Straight
Family Tradition by Hand Willimas Jr
Copperhead Road by Steve Earl
Fast Cars and Freedom by Rascal Flatts
Fishin’ in the Dark by Nitty Gritty Dirt Band
Drift Off to Dream by Travis Tritt
Independence Day by Martina McBride
You Never Called Me by My Name by David Allen Coe
Born to Fly by Sara Evans
What Might Have Been by Lonestar
God Blessed Texas by Little Texas
Maybe it was Memphis by Pam Tillis

2 Responses to My list

  1. katie says:

    Love, Me by Collin Raye

  2. Steven says:

    I’m Already Gone. Diamond Rio. Hands down.

    And also, Jesus Take the Wheel although I’m a little ashamed to admit it.

Leave a Reply

