This will be short

I was IMing with Aly today. She was reminding me of God’s presence in walking me through this time, and how faith requires a certain amount of blindness or it’s not faith.

In the last 5 weeks or so, God has spoken to me over and over. Granted, He only says two things, really. “I am with you.” and “I am walking you through this.”

He even gave me a vision of Jesus walking with me through darkness and there was chaos all around me. His right hand (always the right hand) was holding mine, leading me. His left hand was held up in a protective, shielding posture.

I have revisited this reassurance many times and recalled His words, “I am walking you through this.” But while typing with Aly something occured to me. Walking. He’s walking me through this. He’s not sprinting. He is in no hurry. He’s so sure of where we are going and when we have to get there that His gate is steady and almost stroll-like. He’s probably even taking the time to stop and inhale deeply the smell of rain coming or to look at the storm cloud formations.

And I hate this. I would rather sprint to the safety of the porch, timing my run between lightening strikes. But I guess it’s His lightening. And I guess I can’t very well hold His hand if I insist on running ahead of Him.

3 Responses to This will be short

  1. mom says:

    Pretty profound. Don’t forget it.

  2. Sam says:

    the last sentence was my absolute favorite. will be holding on to that one during my emotional roller coaster season o’life.

  3. mom says:

    I re-read this blog and Sam’s reply. DO YOU READ YOUR BLOGS???????? You would be sooooooooooo blessed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I know I do not understand your side of the problem, but you would be so blessed by what you say–perhaps you could pretend someone else wrote it. It’s sooooooooooo good!

Leave a Reply

