A toughie:

Shawn posed an interesting issue in church this week. And while it wasn’t the point of his sermon (whether a church should offer its facilities for the funeral of a gay man) it got me thinking about other tricky situations. So I pose this for your ponderment.

Let’s say you have an unmarried friend who is pregnant. She says there is nobody else that she trusts to tell about her pregnancy. She has decided to get an abortion. She asks you if you will take her because she is scared and doesn’t want to go alone.

What would you do?

*disclaimer* This is completely hypothetical so please don’t scroll through the roledex of my girlfriends. The only one I know that is pregnant is Janna. She and her husband are thrilled about their twins.

8 Responses to A toughie:

  1. Smith says:

    I’d take her, but only after trying my hardest to convince her otherwise. I’d strongly encourage her not to get an abortion first, but if she persists in her decision, I’d take her and cry with her afterward. Hopefully it serves as a door for the love of Christ as she grieves over the loss of her pregnancy. I don’t feel like it’s “enabling” her or placing some sort of approval on her decision, since I would be sure she clearly understood what I believed on the issue, and I think there’s no point in standing judge over someone who’s making a human decision (we can’t rank sins) that is intensely painful and forcing her to go alone.

    That said, I wouldn’t perform an abortion as a physician. I think the line for me would be that I feel the latter causes me to sin myself.

  2. cheryl says:

    “Guest” and “Antagonist” have 24 hours to give their names or their comments are going to be deleted. House rules. If you’re gonna come, come correct.

  3. Tammy says:

    I’m going to skirt the question right now b/c I don’t have the time to write my book-long response. But, I wanted to take the time to pose a few more toughie situations: Should the church conduct the funeral for a person that has committed suicide—and on top of that, should the church allow a scholarship to be set up in the name of the suicidally dead?
    Should the church perform wedding ceremonies for people that have ever been divorced?
    I don’t think that there are black or white answers to these questions. They are all gray areas. Opportunities to serve the community and bring new people into the church? Or all out against God’s will for churches to perform such functions? etc.

  4. Bro says:

    Would you drive your daughter to that appointment?

  5. Hope Clark says:

    I think these are “Tree of Life” situations… ones where there is no law written in direct answer, so you must do what will bring life. For example, if you are a counseling to or a friend of a man who had an affair on his wife last year and never told her, what do you do now? He has since repented and changed his ways… should the truth be uncovered or forgiven? If you tell the wife, it will be brand new for her and will reopen an issue that the man has already gone through repentance over. It could destroy the marriage. But if there is a chance of relapse, her awarness and involvment is warrented. It’s about life… what will bring life to the situation, and not death?

  6. Hope Clark says:

    BTW…glad you’re posting again. 🙂

  7. Shawn (a father) says:

    re: Bro’s question. *disclaimer* Honest reaction as a person, not a pastor

    First thought:
    Hug and kiss my daughter.
    Cancel the appointment.
    Save the baby.
    Kill the boy.
    Hide the body.

    Second thought:
    Find: Verses to justify killing the boy.
    Read: Genesis 34 (the deflowering of Dinah)
    Reasoning: (vs.31) “Should he treat our sister like a prostitute?”
    Conclude: Don’t kill the whole family, just the boy.

    Third thought:
    Hug and kiss my daughter.
    Cancel the appointment.
    Save the baby.
    Forgive the boy.
    Love my grandchild.

  8. Smith says:

    No, I wouldn’t drive my daughter. But, I think a parent-child relationship is different than that of a friendship. I like Shawn’s analysis of the parent-child relationship. I’m pretty sure mine and my husband’s analysis would be pretty similar to that detailed above.

Leave a Reply

