Commandment 2

‘You shall not make for yourself a carved image, or any likeness of anything that is in heaven above, or that is on the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth. 9You shall not bow down to them or serve them; for I the LORD your God am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers on the children to the third and fourth generation of those who hate me, 10but showing steadfast love to(B) thousands[b] of those who love me and keep my commandments.” English Standard Version

I told my friend that I thought that Bruce Almighty was great. He said he wouldn’t watch it. I assumed it was because lots of pastors prematurely tagged it as ungodly. As it turns out he takes the above commandment to mean that we are not to create representations of God in any way. He won’t watch The Passion of the Christ. He doesn’t approve of classical artwork depicting Christ or God. He doesn’t even like flannel graphs in Sunday school. I haven’t asked him, but I am pretty sure he wouldn’t like the tee shirt with God’s hand almost touching fingers with man underscored with the caption “pull my finger.” Should I have capitalized “finger?” Anyway…

Thoughts?

6 Responses to Commandment 2

  1. Steve says:

    Yeah, you should have capitalized it. My quick reaction without meditating on the text is to say… I disagree. I don’t think anybody w0rsh1ps Bruce or flannel graphs. For the flannel and the Gibson movie, nobody was trying to supplant His position, just help us understand the Reality that He is. I think graven images are deified. I think Gibson wanted to make our view of Him bigger, not smaller.

  2. Shawn says:

    Gross misinterpretation of the Scriptures, though common among more legalistic Christian fellowships. I know of seminaries that hold to this position as well. That is departing to the right of what is stated and intended. Not much different than Eve adding to the Word in the garden–”neither shall you touch it”. It makes God seem harder than he is or he intended. Like Baptist not allowing drinking or dancing, WHEN THERE ARE COMMANDS TO DO BOTH! I mean, misrepresenting God is akin to breaking the commandment not to bear false witness…

    This is reminds me of orthodox Jews who write G-d. They believe we’re not supposed to even say or write the name he gave to us. It is not even the “holy” name, just the english reference and they are seeking to show some sort of reverence that is actually disrespectful. Our Creator has sought to reveal himself and come near by giving us a name to identify him and we are pushing him away and trying to keep our distance in an attempt at reverence. The reality is that the Holy coming close is too uncomfortable for us to accept. But, I would be offended if my children insisted on calling me Reverend instead of by the name I gave them, like Daddy.

    How about “You Shall Not Diss God.”

  3. John Henderson says:

    I agree with Shawn completely. I will add, however, that in this case people might be mistaken and even sin though with the right heart. A sincere desire to keep God holy goes to far or the opposite end of the spectrum when the man trying to emphasize the love and relationship God offers puts a “God is my homeboy” sticker on his car. Both are obviously wrong, just let us be careful to avoid judgment of their motives ,which only God knows, and add our wrong to theirs. (not at all saying you were doing that Shawn).

  4. Shawn says:

    In context: the passage in question is not referring to graven images of God himself, as if they would even know where to begin! They just left Egypt where there was worship of the sun, moon, & stars (in heaven above); cows, cats, rams, & other livestock (on the earth); and fish, frogs, & other amphibians (in the water).

    God had something other than James Caviezel as Jesus in mind when he instructed the Hebrew nation from the mountain top (like maybe the golden calf that Aaron was making back at camp while Moses was getting the message). Good intentions are no substitute for bad hermeneutics.

    Which makes an upcoming Acts 29/Resurgence conference instructive as we move forward.
    TEXT & CONTEXT (Piper, Driscoll, Chandler)

    http://theresurgence.com/mark_driscoll_2007-12-01_video_tnc_biblical_context

  5. Shawn says:

    I know your not making accusations, just keeping it real. John Henderson (fair and balanced). Me, on the other hand, prone to go off at any moment at all the little things that get made into big things.

    My next t-shirt purchase will be…
    JESUS SAVE ME from your followers!
    http://www.cafepress.com/buy/save+me+jesus+from+your+followers/-/pd_81609198

  6. cheryl says:

    i prefer the one that reads “they will know us by our tee shirts”

    ha. if you’re gonna get that shirt, get ames-a-lot to design it. the stars were lame.

Leave a Reply

