Speaking my language

My grandmother wasn’t allowed to date. When she met grandpa they had to sneak around. Grandpa wanted to give her a ring but knew that Great-grandpa Carroll with his Irish temper would never let that happen. So grandpa gave it to her brother. Her brother pretended to have found it and gave it to grandma. On my 20th birthday, she gave that ring to me.

A few years back when I was going through a tough time, people were constantly giving me books to make my life better. I was at the point that I wanted to kill the next person who gave me one. Jared sent me a book to read, “Just because it’s a good story.” Til we have Faces is my favorite book to this day.

When I was in Rochester last May, Jared took me to an Ansel Adams exhibit.

John Henderson bought me a shirt off the Sinn Fein web site. It has the Irish flag on a black background. It is emblazoned with a clinched fist and the words in Gaelic “Our day will come.”

9 Responses to Speaking my language

  1. Sam says:

    and as i told JDH, he is now on a CIA list somewhere for being a potential SinnFein member. at least it was worth a future spent in an irish prison, as i know how much you adore the shirt.

  2. Joseph says:

    Okay, so it’s books with weird titles, rings that are surreptitiously acquired, and T-shirts advertising controversial organizations. When’s your birthday??? 🙂

  3. cheryl says:

    Iwill be dirty/flirty thirty on March 2! I share a birthday with bon jovi:) he doesn’t think it’s as cool as i do.

  4. Joseph says:

    I’m still hunting for a T-shirt with the Ayatollah’s photo on it. Any color preferences??? 😉

  5. cheryl says:

    you can hardly equate the Ayatollah with a political agency that just wants to gain independance from GB. call me a sentimental American but i support any group of people that chooses to break away from the control of the English.

  6. John Henderson says:

  7. cheryl says:

    ok, hendyson, but if the FBI shows up at my house I’m going to be really mad. Ha. the gov’t still thinks i live in Mt. p. Amy! Don’t tell them where i am!

  8. John Henderson says:

    فقط [فور ث ركرد], ليس هذا قنبلة تهديد!

Leave a Reply

