New job title. Apparently.

As it turns out, since I work for a mission organization, technically, I’m a missionary. So, I submit this. The first person who can 1) Tell me what this is 2) Tell me what this says and 3) Tell me where these passages are located specifically will get 1000 cool points. And I might even throw in a gift card to Starbucks or something. All three. First person.

#1
E come ta e own place, bot e own people ain wahn hab nottin fa do wid um. Stillyet, some bleeb pon um. Ta all dem, e gim de right fa be chillum ub God.

#2
Cause God lobe all de people een de wol so much dat e gii we e onliest Son. God sen we um do dat ebrygody we bleeb pon um ain gwine dead. Dey gwine lib fa tru faebamo. God ain sen e Son eenta de wol fa condemn de people. God sen e Son fa come sabe de people shru e Son.

#3
Jedus done a heapa oda might wok wa e ciple dem see, bot dey ain write down een dis book yah. Bot de ting dem wa write down een dis book, dey write down so dat oona din bleebe dat de Messiah Christ, God Son. An ef oona bleebe pon Christ, oona gwine had true life.

Papa, I don’t know if you should be allowed to play…But I will let you. Because I lobe you.

11 Responses to New job title. Apparently.

  1. Sam says:

    1. It’s Gullah-Geechee Bible translation. 2. He came to his own, [2] and his own people [3] did not receive him. 12 But to all who did receive him, who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God, 13 who were born, not of blood nor of the will of the flesh nor of the will of man, but of God. John 1:11-12; โ€œFor God so loved the world, [9] that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life. 17 For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but in order that the world might be saved through him. 18 Whoever believes in him is not condemned, but whoever does not believe is condemned already, because he has not believed in the name of the only Son of God. John 3:16-18; Now Jesus did many other signs in the presence of the disciples, which are not written in this book; 31 but these are written so that you may believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God, and that by believing you may have life in his name. John 20:30

    white girls’ got game. and now, a starbucks gift card.

  2. Joseph says:

    Darn,
    I should have been checking your blog daily ‘cos I could really have used the Starbucks gift card. Plus, 1000 cool points in the bank might come in handy for another discussion. Any way, since the questions have already been answered accurately, I just need to tell you that the fact that you work in a Mission sending organization does not make you a missionary. You need to “go” in order to be called a missionary.

  3. cheryl says:

    I “go”ed from Charleston to greenville. I don’t think you have to leave the country to be a missionary.

  4. Papa Robbie says:

    Honestly, it wouldn’t have been fair if I had translated some Gullah….Feel free to click my name for a Gullah glossary.

  5. Joseph says:

    Hey Cheryl, The rule from now on is that you must notify us by e-mail when there is a competition so that we all have a fair chance at feeding our caffeine addiction. Again, I know the operative word is “go” but you must “go” to do something that relates to mission work, otherwise everyone who has ever moved from one state to another (or from one city to another for that matter) would be a missionary in your book! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. cheryl says:

    I would argue that if someone walks from cubicle to the next to share with someone who Jesus is and how He is life giving and life changing, they are a missionary. but let’s not split salander hairs over this one.

    Joseph, the truly faithful check my blog first thing in the morning:)

  7. Crys says:

    I think that your definition of a missionary is in desparate need of revision. The thought that a person cannot be a missionary unless they “go” somewhere is totally bogus! I would argue that if I went out into my city (the fabulous Nashvegas) and ministered or witnessed to homeless people or drug addicts or refugees, I would be a missionary to those people. I think your worldview on this topic is limited and should be revised. And please do not read any meanness into my email as that is not the intent. This is just one gal’s opinion which just so happens to be right. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. katie says:

    I think pride is causing people say that walking from one cubicle to another (as Cheryl said) to share about Christ does not make you a missionary. You do not need to be a part of a formal organization nor receive a paycheck from supporters or the international missions board to be a missionary. It’s title reflecting an action. It’s not necessarily a job title.

  9. Joseph says:

    I raise my hands in surrender to all you “budding” missionaries that “go” from cubicle to cubicle and into the streets of Nashvegas. I bite my prideful tongue!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Crys says:

    Ha! You are a very wise man, Joseph. ๐Ÿ™‚
    And just to be clear, I am not one of those noble people who roams the streets of Nashville doing good deeds. But I do have the utmost respect for those that do.

  11. Jon says:

    missionary |หˆmi sh ษ™หŒnerฤ“|
    noun ( pl. -aries)
    a person sent on a religious mission, esp. one sent to promote Christianity in a foreign country.

    This all kindof seems like semantics to me…. We would all likely agree that we are called to represent Christ and speak truth about Him to the people around us whether we travel across the world to do that or not. At the same time, not many of us when asked would describe ourselves as missionaries. How many of us are walking from one cubical to another to share Christ? And I don’t have a cubicle…or even an office really…so I’m exempt.

Leave a Reply

