I guess that’s why they call it medical “practice”

So one doc says I have a cyst. The Radiologist says it’s NOT a cyst. The internet says I have like 3 months to live. Relax, mom. I’m kidding.

But I guess it’s not their fault. It’s not like we give doctors the option to tell us nothing until they are sure. We ask questions in an attempt to self-diagnos. It gives us a feeling of control over the situation.

I wish I knew what questions to ask.

2 Responses to I guess that’s why they call it medical “practice”

  1. Jared says:

    Quite possibly doc #1 means ‘lump’ when he says cyst and the radiologist is being technically correct because it’s not a fluid filled structure…
    Problems like this arise because of translation difficulties. Doctors spend pretty much all of their 20’s only seeing/talking to other medical professionals. Then they spend the rest of their lives trying to remember how to talk to mere mortals about what’s wrong with said frail frams.
    Seriously, everyday I find my ability to talk in normal human terms slipping away and words like “amaurosis fugax” coming from my lips.
    The older the doctor the worse they are.
    Honestly, it can be a stressful part of the job trying to explain things to patients. You don’t want to insult them by making things to simple, if you say the wrong thing they’ll hate you, if you show any doubts or say ‘I don’t know’ they will tell their family you are a bad doctor…

  2. cheryl says:

    seriously. mere mortals? and doctors are…..? even still, i wish you could be there on monday….you know. to translate.

Leave a Reply

