What Jesus can do with a not so Bo-Ring laundry mat, a couple of pizzas, and broken spanish

So my sister, Sharon, and I went to a laundry mat to do her 10 loads. (that is a whole other blog in and of itself. but I digress. Wow. I digressed in the first sentence. Is it digressing if you haven’t gotten to the point yet?) Anyway, I loaded up the machines and then went to grab us a $5 pizza from Little Caesars. mmm. I asked these two kids if they wanted any. So, two pizzas it was. While buying said pizzas I just felt that I should get more just in case anyone else wanted some. I get the pizzas back and there were about 10 more people there. Todos hablan Espanol. Good thing, I do too. A little. So we got to feed a whole bunch of people. Sharon and I believe He multiplied the pizza. He’s been known to do that sort of thing. So there we were sharing pizza with strangers and running around playing with sus ninos. I can fold a shirt and run around washing machines at the same time. Who knew?

In addition to the 10 loads of laundry we were working on, there were 7 bags in my trunk on their way to Goodwill. But I thought that las muchachas might want them. God gave me enough spanish to tell them we had clothes in the car, the sizes and to ask them if they would like them. They did. Blessings! The cool thing about that is Jesus told me that they had friends that needed clothes, too. So fun!

Angela and her husband, both pastors, became fast friends with Sharon and me. Before Angela left, we asked if we could pray for her. Funny how when you ask to pray for someone, they always run right past you to the throne. This precious sister spoke prophesy over both our lives. She encouraged me in issues in my life that there is no way she could have known about unless the Holy Spirit revealed my heart to her. It was such an amazing time!

At one point, as Sharon and I were wrapping things up, she looked at me and said, “Cheryl, I think this is what life is supposed to be.” I think she’s right. It’s just like my Jesus to take a hopelessly selfish girl with a bad attitude and join her with her sister to be His hands and heart to feed and clothe His kids. And playing with the kids as we were working, I actually felt His heart for them. There is no joy deeper.

Ps.
I was talking with Daphne. Ella tiene cinco anos. I said, “Ella es mi hernana, Sharon, pero no habla espanol.”
To which Sharon responded, “Did you just tell her that you’re older?” “No. I told her you can’t speak spanish.”

4 Responses to What Jesus can do with a not so Bo-Ring laundry mat, a couple of pizzas, and broken spanish

  1. John Henderson says:

    Wow, I needed to read that today. God really loves little hispanic kids (but you are still his favorite) so it doesn’t surprise me. I just wonder how you are always getting into this sort of thing. Please don’t call yourself selfish though cause by comparison it makes me look like an ass.

  2. Steven says:

    The important thing is did you get any pizza grease on your clean laundry?

  3. Jared says:

    Why don’t you sensor JDH’s posts when he swears like you do me?!?
    Bias! Censorship! Discrimination!

  4. cheryl says:

    baby, you’ll be fine.

    steven – why waste the best part of the pizza?

Leave a Reply

