I don’t think it gets any lower than this.

After the last two years, I can say that there were many times when the only way to discribe the way I felt was “destitute.” Completely empty of anything worth while, I just felt like a crumpled nothing at His feet, waiting for rest and restoration.

While I was in such a prostrate place, I decided to learn Italian. I just think it sounds pretty. And apparently there’s this thing called a library where you can get stuff to learn Italian and not have to pay for it.

Since I am crashing at my parent’s house, the plan was to have all my mail sent to my office until I found a place of my own. And having lost my job, I am in the process of having everything forwarded again to my parents house. I’m in between the in between – in that place I was shocked to find really exists. As it turns out, I don’t qualify for a library card. No seriously. I can’t get a library card without proof of residence.

“Well, can your parents come by and check anything out for you.”

“I know you’re going to think this is just a line, but they literally just left for Greece. Isn’t there anything you can do?”

“No.”

I’ve heard that line in movies that goes something like, “When I get through with you, you’re not even going to be able to get a library card.” I now feel the sting of such a threat. It’s not pleasant.

7 Responses to I don’t think it gets any lower than this.

  1. Sam says:

    you can get all the library books you want with my card while in charleston. i’ll even pay any overdue fines for you! wouldn’t i be such an awesome roommate?? 🙂

  2. That’s a glorious idea Cheryl! All the great operas that are in Italian….. we miss you and await your visit.

  3. Papa Robbie says:

    Wow. well, there are several sources online for various things. The libary isn’t the knowledge center that it once was. There is plenty of Rosetta Stone software available online to help you learn a new language.

  4. Joseph says:

    I’m praying for you Cheryl!

  5. Sara says:

    hmmm … never knew you had to prove residence for a library card. weird. so …. i heard through the grapevine that you are in town this weekend??!!??? um … can i possibly get on your coffee schedule??? :o) miss you …

  6. cheryl says:

    sara, you ARE my coffee schedule. what are you doing friday? I have all day!

  7. Sara says:

    aarghhhhhhhhhh i just saw your reply comment. apparently, i didn’t check back for an answer. SADDDDDDDD!!!!!! i missed you completely when you were in town! thought i’d see you at the sanctuary. i miss yoU!!

Leave a Reply

