This post will make you mad or giddy – depending on the state of your soul…

I was chatting with my friend last night – my GREENVILLE friend. I have one now! Yippee Skippy! Anyway, we were talking about how fast the year was going. I said that we were 6 months and 1 week from Christmas. And then it hit me. It’s July. Do the math, C!

Cool weather is coming, jollyness is on it’s way! It is officially the time of year when I pull out Christmas tunes just because it makes me feel better about the 100 degree weather. I can’t wait til December when the temperature drops to a refreshing 65, AAAHHHH (I can hear Jared’s eyes rolling.)Break out your Santa hat, pop in a Mariah Carrey Christmas CD, an suck down an iced peppermint mocha.

Where is all this spirit coming from? A friend was telling me about how things never seem to change, and he is just tired of waiting. “You know what it’s like to wait.” And I answered to his charge as the revelation came out of my mouth.

I’m not waiting anymore.

There’s no more “When I getta…” I just have a stillness inside that is allowing me to just live. Kids, today IS your life. Whatever you think it’s missing is just in your head. Life doesn’t start when you finally get settled (what does that mean anyway) or get married or have that perfect job or money in the bank or a baby on the way. Today is what you have. And by the world’s standards, I don’t have too much. But I have peace and I am happy. Now, all that other stuff is just icing on the cake I can’t eat ’cause I just worked out. Ha!

Anyway, stop being grumpy or cynical or bitter about what your life doesn’t look like. After all, it’s almost Christmas!

All I want for Christmas is yooouuuuu.

9 Responses to This post will make you mad or giddy – depending on the state of your soul…

  1. Joseph says:

    Cheryl, you’re in danger of becoming a model Christian just like the Bible describes!!! 🙂

  2. cheryl says:

    if my “model” you mean a girl who God keeps on a short leash so she doesn’t fall apart, then yes:)

  3. matt s says:

    Preach it sis 😀 contentment is hard to come by these days but as you point out, it’s not circumstantial. Anything cimcumstance-dependant is not deep enough to be peace. Keep em comin. Also, this weekend was a totally awesome celebration of Gods faithfulness and sovereignty and i loved every second of it 😀

  4. Shawn says:

    We were discussing Paul’s letter to the Philippians (particularly his writing that ” I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content.”) and Jon told me to come read this.

    The question that came to my mind was, Are there any reasons to be discontent?

  5. cheryl says:

    i can only speak for myself (although i am suspicious that i am not alone) i would say i was discontent because there were things i wanted and i didn’t have. there were things that i used as a measuring stick to make sure my life was “OK.” I’ve spent the last few years being stripped of everything, including my ability to respond to God. anything i could point to was taken. and when the smoke cleared, it was just us. me and Him. me in a hot mess of a heep, destitute with nothing to offer and Him, sitting rightfully on the thrown. it seesm, apparently that a lot of the things i wanted, i wanted because i thought they would give me a sense of worthiness. i was restless because i hadn’t arrived at a relationship or financial freedom or a steady career. but there was no big revelation. it was a process, a painful one, at that, that created the peace inside me.
    i think im off track. well, you are a master expositor. im sure you can draw the answer out of that:)

  6. Shawn says:

    I did not mean to ask what makes/made you discontent per se, I meant to inquire as I am prone to do, When is being discontent acceptable?

  7. cheryl says:

    i always miss your questiosn the first time…ho hum.

    i think we are not supposed to be content when we see that things are not the way they should be. poverty and child abuse are not ok. racial desparity in healthcare is not ok. being a yankees fan is not ok.

  8. Shawn says:

    Waiting and contentment are related, but in a distant cousin, not unlawful to be married, way. The problem with the “when I getta” approach as you put it, is not only the lack of joy in today, but the eventual letdown of the when. Because the “whenever” or “whatever” is a false heaven and a false savior which will always disappoint (just ask my wife ; ) ). But, we do also wait for the day of redemption and the Redeemer who will come.

    Not that you requested it, but below are some of my favorite verses on the subject and a link to my favorite song on it as well (gospel choirs will be in glory!) Context of the song is right after September 11.

    According to his promise we are waiting for new heavens and a new earth in which righteousness dwells. (2Peter 3:13)

    Through the Spirit, by faith, we ourselves eagerly wait for the hope of righteousness. (Galatians 5:5)

    Our citizenship is in heaven, and from it we await a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ, who will transform our lowly body to be like his glorious body. (Philippians 3:20-21)

    Keep yourselves in the love of God, waiting for the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ that leads to eternal life. (Jude 1:21)

    The creation waits with eager longing for the revealing of the sons of God… For we know that the whole creation has been groaning together in the pains of childbirth until now. And not only the creation, but we ourselves, who have the firstfruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for adoption as sons, the redemption of our bodies. For in this hope we were saved. Now hope that is seen is not hope. For who hopes for what he sees? But if we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience… (Romans 8:19-25)

  9. Shawn says:

    Oh, and since you’re a U2/Bono fan as well- Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For is about this as well as Peace on Earth. They performed for the same 9/11 tribute:

    He rewrote the words from Peace on Earth for the intro:
    Heaven on Earth, we need it now
    I’m sick of all of this hanging around
    Sick of sorrow, sick of the pain
    I’m sick of hearing again and again
    That there’s never gonna be peace on Earth

    Never content with unrighteousness!

Leave a Reply

