Now that all that’s over with…

I don’t know how it is where you live, but here in the Upstate the leaves are intense right now. I can’t remember a more brilliant fall. My sister and I can hardly get our heart rate up on a walk because I am constantly stopping and staring in wonder. It makes my insides dance – the twirly-swirly dancing. In fact, it’s so captivating that I’m running the risk of a car accident because I’m looking more at the trees than the road as I tool around town. But we wouldn’t be experiencing this beauty had we not spent the last months in a severe drought.

When Elohim formed the world, He wove His character and Truth into the creation around us. Botanist are welcome to challenge the science of this, but from what I understand, the brilliant colour of leaves is masked by chlorophil. It’s when the chlorophil is depleted that the leaves change and we see what they really look like. And the more severe the drought, the brighter the colours.

There something about this process that resonnates with me. This has been a long season of darkness and dryness. He has taught me to believe in His ever-present hand without being able to see what it is doing. He is removing the masks I depend on, sometimes removing them gently, sometimes fiercely. But all of it is purposed to reveal how He truly made me, to display the brilliant colours that are His reflection in my life.

If you are going through a time of hardship, dryness, pressure, uncertaintly, dispair, loss or a time characterized by the phrase, Will this ever change?, just know that He is revealing the brilliant colours of who He made you to be. Then get all twirly-swirly about it.

2 Responses to Now that all that’s over with…

  1. Joseph says:

    Cheryl, I’m all verklamped! I think this is the best post of yours by far that I’ve ever read. If I may say, I see the brilliant colors of your evolution manifest in your writing. I’m praying for you right now.

  2. Hope Clark says:

    Love this, Cheryl. LOVE IT. I’m telling you… you are starting to sing.

Leave a Reply

