Mystery Revealed

I don’t know how a post meant to tease about my new love affair turned into a comparison of Anna Nicole and Princess Diana. Thanks to all of you who e-mailed furiously to inquire as to the identity of the lucky man. It is with great mischief that I reveal his identity. Are you ready? Drum role, please. The lucky man is Kudu. No. He’s not African. But he is a coffee house that serves South African coffee. And I am in love.

I have this friend. We’ll call him David. He is a coffee connoisseur. He is the only connoisseur of anything that I have ever met. By that I mean that he can taste a coffee drink and tell you that they only steamed the milk to 110 degrees instead of 115. It would be a little creepy if it weren’t so facinating. He says that Starbucks in the place where coffee drinkers drink tea. Now, whenever I go to Starbucks, I get that feeling that he is going to see me and be ashamed. Ya know how when you’re watching a movie and a sex scene comes on, and you’re nervous that your parents are going to walk it? It’s kind of like that.

Anyway, David ordered a Carmel Breve for me, and I have never tasted anything like it. I thought about it for the rest of the weekend.

The whole experience left me with some deeper thoughts about how often we settle for what is easy and convenient, but I will save that for another post.

Again, thank you for all the interest. Jared, thank you for eventually calling me classy/vauable. I know, baby. Sometimes it just has to be said a couple times…

11 Responses to Mystery Revealed

  1. katie says:

    I KNEW it was coffee!! I’m so good!

  2. katie says:

    well i assumed that if it were an actual person, you wouldn’t have posted such a detailed “i’m smitten” blog.

  3. So your a big tease, but a charming one so we don’t mind. Speaking of…. how can you say this place is the best thing since puppies and not tell us where it is?

  4. Sam says:

    cheryl, don’t take that as a comment on your desirability…instead, see it for what it really is- we’ve always known kates was a little ‘special’, and now her secret power of prestidigitation is well known.

    HA- take that- 6 syllable word! i could so kick butt on jeopardy

  5. Sam says:

    oh, and have i mentioned that i’m stuck in my house for 2 days with strep?? i’m going to be the best blog commentor EVER for 48 hours

  6. Papa Robbie says:

    Kudu is a cool place…Went there to do a TV interview a week ago. Great coffee & cool vibes.

  7. cheryl says:

    katie is correct about that.

    Papa – YOU are a cool place!

  8. katie says:

    see i know what i’m talking about. it’s be like me sending biggles an email professing my affections and then sending it out to the whole impact group…wait…i did that…

  9. Jared says:

    But I WAS calling you classy/valuable all along, it just took awhile for the message to get through. Must be because I speak Yankee…
    And the word estate is in this months vocabulary because Jesse is shopping for a ring and everytime he describes what he wants the salesmen say “Oh, our estate rings are over here.” Moral support while ring shopping is important. Plus I’m so ‘thrifty’ that I help couterbalance the high-pressure salesmen who say “Well one carat is a good place to start. It’s a nice size.”

  10. cheryl says:

    i would marry jesse.

Leave a comment